Awarded to

New Vice President - James Carter

20 May 2020

Following the appointment of former Vice President, Jan Turbill to Chief Commissioner, James Carter has been elected Vice President from now until the AGM in August. Congratulations James!


Our Chief Commissioner's address re COVID-19 addresses

24 Apr 2020

Listen to our Chief Commissioner, Jan Turbill lead you through our plans to be a stronger organisation on the other side of COVID-19


Scouting From Home

14 Apr 2020

Find out how you can join Scouting, share in some of our awesome activities or discover what your friends have been raving about.


Scouts SA appoints it's 19th Chief Commissioner

02 Apr 2020

Welcome Jan, Farewell Harry! Scouts SA is proud to announce Jan Turbill has been appointed as our 19th Chief Commissioner. Jan succeeds Harry Long who has devoted his life to Scouting and education and has served as our Chief for the last 5 years.


The adventure continues!

10 Dec 2019

Do you have the post AJ2019 Blues? There is plenty of adventure still to be found!


Glen Osmond Scout Group is entirely self-funded. It is managed by the Group Leader, whose management responsibility is primarily focused on the uniformed leaders, the youth programs they provide and the leader training status. This management allows the leaders to conduct more skilled-based activities like camping, boating, etc. Each section, Joeys, Cubs, and Scouts is under the control of a Section Leader. Each Section may have a number of Assistant Leaders, e.g. AJL Assistant Joey Leader.

Group Leadership Team

The uniformed Leaders form a Group Council where youth activity programs are developed and coordinated, chaired by the Group Leader.

    The leadership team is:
  • Group Leader: Jo Peters (Papou)
  • Activity Leader: John Leeton (Rocky)
  • Scouts Leaders: Karl Mortimer (Lofty)
    • Assistant SL: Clarence Yeoh (Pinkie)
    • Assistant SL: Niklas Ljungberg (Dingo)
    • Assistant SL: Phoebe Umlauf (Rebel) 
  • Cubs Leaders: Dion Basson (Kaa)
    • Assistant CL: Luke Moran (FIFO)        
    • Assistant CL: Nikita Mortimer (Gecko)
  • Joey Leader: Amanda Baker (Koala)  

 Group Support Committee

The Group Support Committee is the back-room management of Group business. It collects the fees, the payment of bills, organises fundraising, parent social events, working bees and reviewing the Group strategic plan. The Group Support Committee has 3 named positions (Chairperson, Secretary and Treasurer) and any number of other members (parents or supporters of the Group). Some of these other members are in other roles, like Hall Hiring Coordinator, Quarter Master, Fund Raising, etc. 

  • Chairperson - Jo. Peters
  • Treasurer - Ian Overton
  • Secretary - Yvonne Svensson 
  • Membership Officer - Nicholas Harry
  • Web Master - Arnaldo Rugai